Benton Harbor Scholarship

Below Tom Nelson honors the 2022 Scholarship Winner, Azizah Muhammad, who will attend Tennessee State

Mark Scott & Reid Jaeger establishes a scholarship fund under the name SJHS Class of 1970.

To commemorate 50 years, in 2019 some of the alumnae decided to create a legacy for our graduating class by establishing a scholarship fund.  With the idea of giving back to the larger community, the fund provides a $1000 scholarship to a female graduate of Benton Harbor High School.  To date, 3 scholarships have been granted, all to exceptional young women who not only excel academically, but provide leadership in school and in their community.  Their stories are inspiring, their careers just starting.

Many of us give annually to the St. Joseph School Foundation, but we wanted  this fund to reflect the ethos of our class back in 1970; we were idealistic and knew we could make our world a better place to live in.  The fund is administered by the Berrien Community Foundation, which screens the applicants and recommends a recipient.

As a member of the Class of ‘70 we encourage all of you to contribute to the fund. Let’s show our thanks for the opportunities and privileged education we received and give today.

Checks should be made payable to:

Berrien Community Foundation, c/o SJHS Class of ‘70 Scholarship Fund

2900 South State St.  /  Suite 2E  /  St. Joseph, MI 49085 

The Berrien Community Foundation is a 501(c)3 and all donations are 100% tax deductible.

Scholarship Winners

2020 - Takeidra Masters, Valparaíso University

2021 - Star Williams, Ferris State College

2022 - Azizah Muhammad, Tennessee State University

2020 - Takeidra Masters, Valparaíso University

Using Format